Tag Archives: fresno philharmonic

Philharmonic free web stream this Saturday, March 20th, 5:30pm

Check out this sneak peak from the Fresno Philharmonic, led by Music Director Rei Hotoda, and their upcoming Digital Masterworks Series! The next web stream will be this Saturday, March 20th, at 5:30pm on YouTube and FresnoPhil.org.

Digital Masterworks Series: Vive la France
Free Livestream Premiere
Saturday, March 20 at 5:30 pm
on YouTube and fresnophil.org

Fresno Philharmonic
Rei Hotoda, conductor and piano

Paul Dukas – Fanfare pour precede La Peri
Charles Gounod – Petite Symphonie (1st movement)
Jessie Montgomery – Starburst
Lili Boulanger – D’un vieux jardin
Jacques Ibert – Divertissement


Rei Hotoda to interview Joan Tower

Joan Tower is a Grammy winning contemporary women composer, who Rei Hotoda describes as having “held the door for young women to walk through.” Joan Tower’s work, “Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 1” (1987) was the first piece performed in the February American Visions concert. Tomorrow at 5:30pm, Hotoda will interview Joan Tower in a virtual continuation of Fresno Philharmonic’s Stay Tuned series. The video will premiere on their YouTube channel and their website.

In celebration of Women’s History Month, Rei Hotoda interviews groundbreaking composer Joan Tower, whose Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman was featured on our February Digital Masterworks concert. Join us for this lively discussion with one of America’s greatest living composers.

Fresno Philharmonic

Fresno Philharmonic launches more of its Digital Masterworks Series

The Fresno Philharmonic initially booted its Digital Masterworks Series back in January 16th with its concert Intersections of Past and Present. Their trailer (below) confirmed there will be more installments, from tomorrow up until April, premiering on the 3rd Saturday at 5:30pm. All of these digital concerts will be free to watch on YouTube. Tomorrow’s digital concert is American Visions.

Digital Masterworks Trailer
The first (technically second) installment of Fresno Philharmonic’s Digital Masterworks Series.

The varieties of American music are on display in this program combining new voices with Aaron Copland’s popular ballet score Appalachian Spring. Joan Tower’s Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman sets the stage for our musical exploration of American identity. We also celebrate Black History Month with compositions by Florence Price and Jasmine Barnes.

Fresno Philharmonic